Skip to main content

Resources for Academics Guide: eReadings and eSpace

This guide has been created to assist academics to access electronic material and add these links to Learnline units

eReadings Procedure

Requests for print resources such as book chapters and journal articles not available in our online collection can be scanned and added to the eReadings Collection. Once added to the eReadings Collection you will receive a permanent link which can be embedded into Learnline modules.

Academics will need to request this service via a form, see box on right.

Where the item (eBook, Journal Article, Conference Paper) is available via the Library online collection you can use the direct links found via Library Search or database, please see Adding readings to your unit tab. Please see the clip, Requesting an eReading on this page.

 

eSpace

The purpose of CDU eSpace digital repository is to archive, preserve and showcase the University’s intellectual outputs and special collections entrusted to the University. It also serves to assist with CDU’s research data management. CDU eSpace contributes towards maximising the visibility, and potential for citation, of CDU’s research by making it accessible through a global network of services such as OAIster, Trove and Google Scholar.

The collecton includes:

  • journal articles
  • conference contributions
  • books and book chapters
  • higher degree research theses and dissertations
  • reports
  • grey literature such as working and discussion papers
  • creative works with a research component
  • special collection materials of cultural or historical significance

It is also possible to add your own publications to eSpace. Login with your CDU user name and password and follow the instructions for submitting a publication.

If you have any questions or concerns please email Library-Digitisation@cdu.edu.au

Prescribed texts and Short Term Loan

If you would like prescribed or recommended textbooks to be readily available to students studying on campus, you can request for them to be added to the Short Term Loan Collection. This will restrict loan periods so that more students can access the texts during semester.

Prescribed texts are not automatically added to the Short Term Loan Collection unless borrowing requests are very high, so please consider potential usage prior to semester beginning, and use the Short Term Loan form located on the link below to request the addition of books to Short Term Loan.

If you are considering using eBooks as prescribed or recommended texts please advise your liaison librarian as it is important to check the license agreement and access limits. Many of our eBooks only allow for three simultaneous users so not appropriate as a prescribed text option.

Forms

From the Library homepage the dropdown menu for Forms allows academics to request the following:

  • Book chapters to be added to the eReadings collection.
  • Books to be placed on Short Term Loan ie: 2 day or 4 hour.
  • Request items to be purchased for the collection.
  • Request Interlibrary Loans.
  • Register and request items via Distance Library Services.

http://www.cdu.edu.au/library/forms/forms.html

 

Adding an eReading to the Library

ABN 54 093 513 649 • Privacy StatementCopyright and DisclaimerLibrary Webmaster • CRICOS Provider No: 00300K • RTO Provider No: 0373