Skip to main content

Open Access Subject Guide: Open Access Resources

Directories and Collections

Australian Open Access Support Group (AOASG)

Contains information about open access in Australia. Includes many resources and FAQ page.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.

OAK Law Project

A web-enabled database containing information about poublishing agreements and publishers' open access policies known as the OAKList. It is interoperable with the RoMEO/SHERPA database.

OpenDOAR

An authoritative worldwide directory of academic open access repositories

OATD: Open Access Theses and Dissertations

An index of over 1.6 million electronic theses and dissertations freely available online.

Knowledge Unlatched Pilot Collection

A collection of Open Access book titles.

SHERPA/RoMEO

A database of publishers' policies on copyright and self-archiving.

Predatory Publishers

The gold (author pays) open-access model has given rise to a great many new online publishers. Many of these publishers, known as predatory publishers, are corrupt and exist only to make money off the author processing charges that are billed to authors upon acceptance of their scientific manuscripts. Beall's List of Predatory Journals is no longer available. However, archived versions are accessible from here:

Beall's List of Predatory Publishers (Archived List December 2016)

Beall's List of Predatory Journals (Archived List December 2016)

ABN 54 093 513 649 • Privacy StatementCopyright and DisclaimerLibrary Webmaster • CRICOS Provider No: 00300K • RTO Provider No: 0373