Skip to main content

Publishing: Criteria for Selecting Journals

Introduction

Research staff and students will generally share their research by publishing it as an article in a journal. With the large number of journals in circulation, it has become increasingly difficult to ascertain which journals are the most suitable and of good quality.

When selecting a journal to publish in, there are a  number of criteria you should consider to help identify the one most appropriate to meet your needs. A number of these criteria are outlined below with links to relevant resources, many of which are accessible through CDU Library.

Selecting Journals

When selecting a journal title to publish in, there are a number of key criteria you will need to consider including:

  • Is it peer reviewed?

Check the journal itself for this information or alternatively, check the Ulrichsweb Global Serial Directory which is a comprehensive directory of 300,000+ serial titles covering 900 subject areas, to obtain this information. Details about each title including whether it is peer reviewed, is available in Ulrichs.

  • Is it relevant?

Does the scope of the journal meet your needs? Is it relevant to your research? The Ulrichsweb Global Serial Directory can provide you with some of this information so it is a good starting point. In addition, the journal web site itself will give you more detailed inforamtion about the aim and scope of the journal. It would also be worthwhile reviewing table of contents of some issues of the journal.

  • Is it a prestigious journal?

There are a number of ways to determine whether a journal is prestigious. Firstly is it listed on the ERA List of Submitted Journals?

- ERA 2015 List of Submitted Journals – a spreadsheet of the Australian Research Council’s list of approx. 16,000 journal titles in which articles have previously been submitted. The list can be searched more easily by journal title or by Field of Research from a database created by John Lamp of Deakin University here: ERA Current Outlets Access

- Does the journal have a Journal Impact Factor, or SCImago Journal Ranking? To obtain that information, check the journal web site Consult the following tools:

- Journal Citation Reports database if you have a subscription, or the journal web site– to find the Journal Impact Factor

- Scopus Database – to find the SCImago Journal Ranking

  • Is it discoverable?

A journal is more likely to be discovered if it is indexed by a major journal database providing easy access to content to researchers. The Ulrichsweb Global Serial Directory again can provide this information, or you can also check the CDU eResources portal to see if it is indexed by a database that CDU subscribes to.

  • Is it open access?

The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ), a freely accessible database of 10,000 open access journal titles, is a good starting place to search for open access journal titles in your area of interest. In addition, SHERPA/RoMEO, a database of publishers' policies on copyright and self-archiving

Staff Profile

Jayshree Mamtora's picture
Jayshree Mamtora
Contact:
Research Services Coordinator

Level 2, CDU Casuarina Campus Library

Red 8.2.06

Tel.: (08) 8946 6541
Website / Blog Page

Publisher Tools

There are two other tools from publishers which may also prove useful for identifying relevant journals:

Elsevier Journal finder

Find the perfect journal for your article. Elsevier® Journal Finder helps you find journals that could be best suited for publishing your scientific article. Please also consult the journal’s Aims and Scope for further guidance. Ultimately, the Editor will decide on how well your article matches the journal. The Journal Finder tool uses Scopus and the Elsevier Fingerprinting Engine to locate Elsevier journals that most closely match an author's list of keywords and/or abstracts.

           Publishing with Elsevier / Top Tips                                                                               

Manuscript matcher - Thomson Reuters

  • Start with a few key pieces of information: manuscript title, abstract, and references
  • Select an EndNote reference group from the drop-down
  • View suggested publications from analysis aided by key criteria such as JCR® Impact Factor
  • Compare your options and start the process to submit your manuscript
ABN 54 093 513 649 • Privacy StatementCopyright and DisclaimerLibrary Webmaster • CRICOS Provider No: 00300K • RTO Provider No: 0373